As the first T20I between Australia and Scotland in Edinburgh neared its conclusion, the focus shifted from Travis Head's explosive performance to the fascinating 'long ball' tactic employed by left-arm spinner Mark Watt. This approach stirred conversations about the nuances of cricket law it challenges.
Following a boundary hit by Mitchell Marsh, Watt executed one of his trademark 25-yard deliveries to Josh Inglis. The batter hesitated and stepped back, resulting in the ball dislodging the leg bail. The umpire deemed it a 'dead ball' but also appeared to consult with Inglis regarding the situation.
"I’m just trying to put pressure on the batters," Watt said previously. "By the time I deliver the ball, the batsman looks up and sees it already halfway down the pitch."
According to Law 20.4.2.5, the umpire's ruling was appropriate, which states that "Either umpire shall call and signal dead ball when…the striker is not ready for the delivery of the ball and, if the ball is delivered, makes no attempt to play it." If the umpire is convinced the batsman had legitimate reasons for being unprepared, the delivery does not count as part of the over.
However, the interpretation of "adequate reason" rests with the umpire's discretion, and Watt seemed to believe Inglis was ready to face him. Freeze-frame images indicated that Inglis was still focusing on his bat while Watt began his run-up, but he did turn to face the bowler before the delivery.
Preston Mommsen, former Scotland captain and commentator, remarked that Inglis was fortunate: "Given the unexpected nature of the delivery coming from 23 or 24 yards, he’s very lucky to still be at the crease."
While the match's outcome would not have changed due to this incident, it reignited discussions about whether Watt was deprived of a potential wicket. A comparable scenario unfolded earlier this year during the T20 World Cup when Oman's Khalid Kail was 'bowled' after stepping away, but umpire Chris Brown called it a dead ball. Watt and captain Richie Berrington had engaged with the umpire at that time, but during this recent match, play proceeded amid animated gestures and boos from the crowd in response to the two dead-ball calls.
Tom Moody, who provided commentary during the earlier World Cup incident, opined that Kail was prepared and the ball should have stood. "The batter’s looking up. He’s ready. To me, that is a legitimate ball. As soon as the batter has placed his bat down, faced up, and looked at the bowler, he’s ready to go," Moody stated.
Australia was already on alert regarding Watt's tactics during their T20 World Cup clash with Scotland in St. Lucia, where both Inglis and Marcus Stoinis were part of the opposing squad.

